Gone too soon- MJ

Ok, there are more important posts that I had wanted to publish earlier but let me indulge myself in sharing my shock over the sudden death of a music icon- King of Pop, MJ, on 25th June 2009.

I saw the news online and found it surreal. Have been checking his music videos and looking up his ‘photo-biography’. Let me get this clear= I am not exactly a big fan of Michael Jackson, but like so many others, I admire him for his talent and his catchy music.I grew up listening to his music and even attempted a group dance to ‘Bad’ when i was primary 6 ;p So yea, he is very much a reminiscent of my childhood. Well music very much defines the various  eras of one’s life, me thinks! (I think my fave MJ song would have to be ‘Smooth Criminal’ and I wish that he just kept to the (post plastic surgery) look of ‘Bad’. Beyond that, no comments. Let him RIP!)

Coming back to me going through sites about MJ- i remembered one of his songs released in tribute to Ryan White, a youngster inflicted with AIDS- ‘ Gone Too Soon’. It hit me how the song very well describes MJ’s brief but (musically) brilliant life. Yes, he has been maligned with charges and all the tabloid fodder. I’d like to remember him for his talent and how some of his songs were very meaningful= be it in relation to his life (‘Just leave me alone’) or to social causes (‘Heal the world’, ‘Man in the mirror’ etc etc). 

Do look up the following links, if you are inclined. If nothing else, enjoy the music of the one and only KING of POP!

Gone Too Soon
Like a comet
Blazing ‘cross the evening sky
Gone too soon

Like a rainbow
Fading in the twinkling of an eye
Gone too soon

Shiny and sparkly
And splendidly bright
Here one day
Gone one night

Like the loss of sunlight
On a cloudy afternoon
Gone too soon

Like a castle
Built upon a sandy beach
Gone too soon

Like a perfect flower
That is just beyond your reach
Gone too soon

Born to amuse, to inspire, to delight
Here one day
Gone one night

Like a sunset
Dying with the rising of the moon
Gone too soon
Gone too soon

Courtesty of [ Jackson Michael Lyrics are found on http://www.songlyrics.com

Photos and videos:

http://myplay.com/video-player/michael-jackson/

http://www.mtv.com/photos/michael-jackson-a-life-in-photos/1614745/4003795/photo.jhtml

http://www.eonline.com/photos/gallery.jsp?galleryUUID=1315


P.S: As I was looking thru his photos, I was taking note of the dates they were taken. And I couldnt help wondering that if he (or anybody else for that matter!) knew that he would be gone in so many years/ months. Made me consider each day we have is actually a countdown to our end. Cliche but true- make full use of the time that we are gifted with, But how many of us actually do so always????


6 thoughts on “Gone too soon- MJ

  1. I’m not a big fan either but I cdn’t help but feel really sad when I read about his passing online ytd morning. Watched all the tv news on the MJ last night. I can’t believe he’s gone. sigh~

    • Thats the beauty of his music and the magic of MJ. One need not be his fan to be affected- in small way or otherwise- by his death. Yes, his passing is unbelievable.

    • Yes, nephew and niece- ‘Bad’ was selected by P6 classmates for some school performance. Remember rehearsing the moves for the song but I dun think we made it to the stage, tho! ;p

  2. I feel much the same. Watched a ‘rockumentary’ of his early works last night on MTV. He was best on Off the Wall and Thriller, young, face untouched, really, really good. That’s the way I’d like to remember him, the MJ of my youth.

Leave a Reply

