Standard: Bookslove- January edition

Few of the books I read this first month of 2012. I had forgotten to take pix of some interesting ones before returning to the library. Though the double loan period wont return until mid-year holidays, I dont expect to be reading any less (especially after discovering shelves with call nos.’640′)

Those good ones I had not included in the photos- ‘The Storyteller’s Secret’ (poem stories for children), ‘The Secret Journey’ (meant for Princess but I tremendously enjoyed this juvenile literature about a stowaway girl)

 

As for those shown above-

The Wicked wit of Oscar Wilde reminded me of the sheer delight of his hit comedy ‘The Importance of being Earnest’. Now need to go look for ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray’ which has some intriguing quotes. ‘She is a peacock in everything but beauty’ was a hit with my P5 creative writing class.

The Bard- beautiful lines and the source of so many everyday phrases (I wear my heart on my sleeve). Really need to try read more of his works regularly.

Natural remedies- nothing really new but adds on to my growing pantry of treatments without drugs. This book also made me fall in love with lemons all over again! And I actually enjoy drinking pounded garlic in honey lemon water ;>

44 Scotland Street- Next to ‘The First Ladies’ Detective Agency’ series, this is my other fave from the esteemed author. These stories appear in a Scottish daily as running series, which make it easy for me to skip pages about characters I dont fancy and the frequent anthropological rambles. And reading the above sequels consecutively was another thrill for me. Now I wonder if I had returned/ read any of the Isabel Dalhousie titles by same author. Oh well… now back to the bags of books and magazines waiting to be featured in the Feb edition ;p

Leave a Reply

